Traffic Ticket Attorney

Know the Penalties of Driving with a Suspended License in Florida

April 13, 2015

Driving with a suspended license may result in penalties including fines and the possibility of jail time, with increased sentences for repeat offenders. The duration of the suspension of the driver’s license varies depending on the severity of the traffic offense, You could have your license suspended for a minimum of 30 days and for a maximum of 1 year, or a revocation for a minimum of 5 years, up to a permanent revocation for certain offenses. Driving with a suspended license is a criminal offense, punishable as a misdemeanor, or even a felony, depending on the case.

If you are caught while driving with a suspended license in Florida, you should consider challenging the case by hiring experienced traffic ticket lawyers,  who are familiar with the laws, and the defenses. In certain cases, drivers with suspended licenses can apply for restricted, or “hardship” licenses. With this type of license in hand, they can drive during the period of suspension. Although, under this license, they are restricted from driving to certain places and during certain times of the day

The Penalties For Driving On A Suspended License In Florida Are:

  • Your first conviction may be a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and a maximum of 60 days in jail.
  • Your second conviction may be a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum $1,000 fine and a maximum of one year in jail.
  • Your third or subsequent conviction may be a third-degree felony, punishable by a maximum fine of $5,000 or a maximum of five years in prison. Additionally, a conviction for driving with a suspended license, (DWLS), may result in additional suspension, or revocation of your license

If the state of Florida considers you as a habitual offender and your license is revoked, you may be charged with a third-degree felony for driving after revocation. In certain circumstances, your car will be seized. The intervention of an experienced Florida traffic attorney may help minimize the penalties charged for driving with a suspended license. To know more- Call 1(800) 248-2846!