Traffic Ticket Attorney

Hiring a Reckless Driving Lawyer in Florida

November 8, 2018

There are certain charges no driver wants to see on their record. With the exception of a DUI offense, reckless driving is one of the worst offenses a driver can find themselves obtaining. As there are a number of ways that you could be subject to receiving a reckless driving offense, it is important to understand what it is before you get behind the wheel, in order to prevent the consequences and financial hardships associated with it.

What is Reckless Driving?

In Florida, Reckless Driving is one of the worst moving violations a driver can receive. Unlike careless driving or improper driving, where the driver could be considered unaware of the dangers of their actions, reckless driving considers the driver both aware of their actions and showing disregard for the safety of others and traffic laws.

While this charge can be received for a number of reasons and conditions that vary from state to state, Florida law clearly describes reckless driving consisting of a driver exhibiting “wanton disregard” for property and lives of other drivers or pedestrians.

What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Florida?

In the state of Florida, anyone charged with reckless driving and found guilty will receive severe penalties. On their first offense, drivers will be punished with no more than 90 days in jail, along with a fine ranging from $25 up to $1,000. On a second offense, the driver will be subject to a jail sentence of no more than six months, in addition to a fine ranging from $50 to $5,000.
However, if a driver was involved any type of property damage, the charge is upgraded to a first degree misdemeanor. If the driver caused any type of serious injury to another person, the charge may be upgraded to a third-degree felony. Serious injury is defined as any injury that puts a person in serious risk of dying, severe bodily harm or the loss of any bodily function or organ. If this offense took place while the driver was under the influence of drugs, alcohol or any other type of illegal substance outlined within the state’s statues, they will receive an additional DUI charge and be responsible for completing any and all court-ordered substance abuse programs.

To make matters worse, a driver convicted will be faced with consequences from their insurance company. Insurance companies take reckless driving very seriously, and anyone found guilty with a reckless driving charge and almost guarantee their rates will increase. It is very common for drivers to see their insurance policies double in price due to a single reckless driving charge.

How Much Does a Reckless Driving Lawyer Cost?

The cost to hire a reckless driving lawyer to fight your case can vary depending on a variety of factors for your charge. If you have previous charges on your driving record, it could lead to a hefty fine. One call to the lawyers at The Ticket Clinic, or hiring us online, can help increase your chances of a lower fine or possibly even a dismissal of your reckless driving charge. Since 1987, The Ticket Clinic has resolved over 3,000,000 traffic-related cases across the nation. Call now at 1-800-CITATION (1-800-248-2846) for your free consultation!